Tuesday, December 15, 2020
Banner Top

lewis hamilton australian grandprix Lewis Hamilton wins the 2008 Australian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton managed to lead from start to the end, in a race that only eight drivers managed to finish.  “Coming into a new season, turning over a new leaf, we really wanted to get off on the right foot” he said right after. The race was a catastrophe for Ferrari. Massa had an accident with Coulthard and retired during the 26th lap while Raikkonen suffered an engine failure, but still ranked 8th place and got 1 pt. Barrichello managed to get himself disqualified for exiting the pit lane while the red flag was waved.

Here are the official results of the 2008 Australian Grand Prix

1. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren 1:34:50.616
2. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber +00:05.478
3. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams – Toyota 00:08.163
4. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 00:17.181
5. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 00:18.014
6. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams – Toyota 1 lap
7r. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 3 laps
8r. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 5 laps
r. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 11 laps
r. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 15 laps
r. Takuma Sato (Japan) Super Aguri – Honda 26 laps
r. Nelsinho Piquet (Brazil) Renault 28 laps
r. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 29 laps
r. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull – Renault 33 laps
r. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 39 laps
r. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Ferrari 50 laps
r. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 56 laps
r. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 57 laps
r. Anthony Davidson (Britain) Super Aguri – Honda 57 laps
r. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 58 laps
r. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India – Ferrari 58 laps
DSQ Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda +00:52.453

note: r = retired, dsq = disqualified