Kimi Raikkonen wins the Belgian Grand Prix

Published by on Aug 31st, 2009, No Comments


Kimster ended a 25 race drought ending first on the podium thanks to a first lap collision that saw Lewis Hamilton and the Jenson Button crash out of the race. Kimi Raikkonen did manage to win the Belgian Grand Prix but the day eventually belonged to the team that finished second on the Podium-Force India. The minnows first managed a pole finish and then Giancarlo Fisichella finished second on the podium giving Force India its first points on the table. Fisichella was a challenge all the way and he took the race down the wire with a second to choose between the two. Fisichella could have even finished first but Kimi managed to overtake the Force India Driver courtesy of the KERS-assisted technology.


Felipe Massa, Ferrari's New Sultan

Published by on May 12th, 2008, No Comments

Felipe Massa wins the Turkish Grand Prix

Brazilian pilot Felipe Massa won the Istanbul Grand Prix, for the third time in a row and managed to send Ferrari in the first place for constructors consolidating their leadership, while he is second in pilots championship. The podium was completed with Lewis Hamilton (McLaren) who was 3.7 seconds slower and then followed by the other Ferrari pilot, world champion, Kimi Raikkonen just half a second behind Hamilton.

Massa was in pole-position at the start and finished first when the checkered flag was waved. Istanbul is the first grand prix ever won by the Brazilian pilot, so it’s obvious why he ended up with a passion for Turkey.

Here are the results of the Turkish Grand Prix:

1. Felipe Massa (Brazil) Ferrari 1 hr 26 min 49.451 secs
2. Lewis Hamilton (Britain) McLaren +00:03.779
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Finland) Ferrari 00:04.271
4. Robert Kubica (Poland) BMW Sauber 00:21.945
5. Nick Heidfeld (Germany) BMW Sauber 00:38.741
6. Fernando Alonso (Spain) Renault 00:53.724
7. Mark Webber (Australia) RedBull – Renault 01:04.229
8. Nico Rosberg (Germany) Williams – Toyota 01:11.406
9. David Coulthard (Britain) RedBull – Renault 01:15.270
10. Jarno Trulli (Italy) Toyota 01:16.344
11. Jenson Button (Britain) Honda 1 lap
12. Heikki Kovalainen (Finland) McLaren 1 lap
13. Timo Glock (Germany) Toyota 1 lap
14. Rubens Barrichello (Brazil) Honda 1 lap
15. Nelson Piquet (Brazil) Renault 1 lap
16. Adrian Sutil (Germany) Force India – Ferrari 1 lap
17. Sebastian Vettel (Germany) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 1 lap
r. Sebastien Bourdais (France) Toro Rosso – Ferrari 34 laps
r. Kazuki Nakajima (Japan) Williams – Toyota 57 laps
r. Giancarlo Fisichella (Italy) Force India – Ferrari 58 laps
(rank: r = retired, nc = not classified)

Formula 1 Bahrain Grand Prix: Massa did it

Published by on Apr 7th, 2008, 1 Comment

Massa managed to get his first points in this year’s championship, after returning to one of his favorite race tracks and winning the Bahrain F1 Grand Prix. He won it in 2007 and came back for another medal after big issues in the first two races this year, when he retired. “I love this circuit. I’ve always been very, very strong here. We knew we could count on a great car and that certainly proved to be the case,” Massa said. These are his first 10 points after failing to finish in Australia and Malaysia.

Bahrain F1 Grand Prix

Second place, Kimi Raikkonen, wasn’t that happy (“It’s not bad” he said) for his second place, 3 seconds behind Massa, but the fact that he’s now the leader of the world championship brings satisfaction.

BMW did good, with Kubica in the third place Nick Heidfeld taking the fourth, 4.9 seconds behind the winner and respectively 8.4 seconds.

Lewis Hamilton made a mess of the race. Started third, inexplicably hit Fernando Alonso of Renault in the back and headed to the pits for repairs. He finished on the 13th spot.

Kovalainen of McLaren on fifth and Jarno Trulli from Toyota finished the top6.

Picture copyright : F1-Live

Kimi Raikkonen wins championship

Published by on Oct 22nd, 2007, 3 Comments


Kimi Raikkonen has become the 2007 Formula One World Champion. In a hectic race where each of the top three could have won it, it was Raikkonen who led his team mate over the finish line to win his first Brazilian race and his first world champion. After so many close attempts, Kimi is a worthy champion, and after his convincing display today around Autodromo Carlos Pace, McLaren will be kicking themselves for letting it slip away. From the first lap, it looked as though Ferrari would dominate, but what happened over the course of the Grand Prix wasn’t what was expected. (more…)

Kimi dominates to keep title hopes alive

Published by on Sep 17th, 2007, 1 Comment


Ferrari driver Kimi Raikkonen has outperformed his team mate and shattered the pace of the McLarens this afternoon as he cruised to a fine win in the Ardennes forest. Felipe Massa brought home his Ferrari in second place, and the Scuderia have now officially sealed the 2007 constructors championship following McLaren’s exclusion. The loosing of the point over his team mate now means that Massa is unlikely to be pushed ahead for the title. Instead, Jean Todt will have to put the majority of resources behind todays winner as the season progresses away from Europe and into Asia.

The start of the Belgian Grand Prix was always going to be watched closely as the circuit tends to narrow going down into the impossibly tight La Source hairpin. The remodeled corner though has a slightly wider exit, and more importantly perhaps, is the large flat run-off area, penalising less if you overcook it. And it was this new area that saw some action on lap one after McLaren drivers Fernando Alonso and Lewis Hamilton attempted to prove their worth to each other. As the red lights faded, Alonso moved across from third to defend his position from Hamilton. The pair went into La Source very close to one another, Lewis on the outside and Alonso on the regular line. As the pair squeezed the throttle Alonso moved towards the outside and just kept moving. Hamilton was forced off the circuit and onto the run-off area. Not one to shy away though, Hamilton kept his foot in it and came back down alongside Alonso. They went into the fast Eau Rouge corner together, but as Alonso was on the inside, Lewis backed off and conceded the position.

From here on in, the Belgian Grand Prix simply became a tour and ultimately, proved to be very boring. Perhaps the lack of changeable weather (something we have come to expect from this spontaneous track) took the edge off the race. Perhaps it was the sheer dominant pace of the Ferrari’s that led to the race becoming dull, and although there were many other battles down through the field, we really wanted to see a battle between the top four.

A two week interval now allows the teams to ship every thing over to Shanghai for the Chinese Grand Prix at the end of the month.

Results after the jump (more…)